Our Story

Bronx Prep is Democracy Prep’s first New York campus outside of Harlem. Over its nearly 14 years of operation, Bronx Prep Charter School has developed a reputation as a widely respected institution serving a high-needs pocket of New York City. Concerned that it was not doing all it could to prepare underserved middle and high school students for higher education, community involvement, and lifelong success through a structured environment of high expectations, the Bronx Prep Board of Trustees chose Democracy Prep to manage the school for the 2014-15 school year and has continued through into the 2019-2020 school year.

 

 

GRADES SERVED
6 – 8

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
360 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Ryan Silver

Principal

Ryan.Silver@democracyprep.org

Elizabeth Monahan

Assistant Principal

elizabeth.monahan@democracyprep.org

Dunja Varciana

Leader Resident

dunja.varciana@democracyprep.org

Nicholas Warley

DREAM Coach

nicholas.warley@democracyprep.org

Daunaree Simon-Smith

6th Grade Reading

daunaree.simonsmith@democracyprep.org

Shehtaz Huq

6th Grade Reading

shehtaz.huq@democracyprep.org

Nicole Jabanoski

6th Grade Reading

nicole.jabanoski@democracyprep.org

Ishaq Allison-Konteh

6th Grade Math

ishaq.allisonkonteh@democracyprep.org

Aleshia Black

6th Grade Math

aleshia.black@democracyprep.org

Jeannette Martino

6th Grade Math

jeannette.martino@democracyprep.org

I'Aisha Jackson

6th Grade Science

iaisha.jackson@democracyprep.org

Marcterline Rockingster

6th Grade Writing

marcterline.rockingster@democracyprep.org

Sonila Preka

6th Grade Writing

sonila.preka@democracyprep.org

James Russell

6th Grade History

james.russell@democracyprep.org

Kimberly Joseph

7th Grade Reading

kimberlyann.joseph@democracyprep.org

Rachael Pietrocola

7th Grade Reading

rachael.pietrocola@democracyprep.org

Tracee Gonzalez

7th Grade Reading

tracee.gonzalez@democracyprep.org

William Holmes

7th Grade Math

william.holmes@democracyprep.org

Martine Samson

7th Grade Math

martine.samson@democracyprep.org

Amber Harrison

7th Grade Math

amber.harrison@democracyprep.org

Raqueil Shelton

7th Grade Science

raqueil.shelton@democracyprep.org

David Hunter

7th Grade History

david.hunter@democracyprep.org

Marquita Gittens

7th Grade Writing

marquita.gittens@democracyprep.org

Valentina Alexandre

7th & 8th Grade Writing

valentina.alexandre@democracyprep.org

Whitney Smith

8th Grade Writing

whitney.smith@democracyprep.org

Migueyli Duran

8th Grade Reading

migueyli.duran@democracyprep.org

Nikita Philpott

8th Grade Reading

nikita.philpott@democracyprep.org

Virginia Peña

8th Grade Math

virginia.pena@democracyprep.org

Madiu-Aziz Lasisi

8th Grade Math

madiu-aziz.lasisi@democracyprep.org

Diana Aguilar

8th Grade Math

diana.aguilar@democracyprep.org

Rashaad Washington

8th Grade Science

rashaad.washington@democracyprep.org

Frody Louis

8th Grade History

frody.louis@democracyprep.org

Joseph Alvarado

Orchestra

joseph.alvarado@democracyprep.org

Derrick Henry

Physical Education

derrick.henry@democracyprep.org

Lydie Bemba

Visual Arts

lydie.bemba@democracyprep.org

Kassandra Lewis

Operations Associate

kassandra.lewis@democracyprep.org

Luis Arroyo

Operations Associate

luis.arroyo@democracyprep.org

Lissan Hardware

Social Worker

lissan.hardware@democracyprep.org

Sandra Waddell

Registrar

sandra.waddell@democracyprep.org

Christopher Crespo

Facilities Associate

christopher.crespo@democracyprep.org

Michael Ortiz

Facilities Associate

michael.ortiz@democracyprep.org

Francisco Mercedes

Security

francisco.mercedes@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

  Click to download BPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17
  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the DPNY Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.