Our Story

Bronx Prep is Democracy Prep’s first New York campus outside of Harlem. Over its nearly 14 years of operation, Bronx Prep Charter School has developed a reputation as a widely respected institution serving a high-needs pocket of New York City. Concerned that it was not doing all it could to prepare underserved middle and high school students for higher education, community involvement, and lifelong success through a structured environment of high expectations, the Bronx Prep Board of Trustees chose Democracy Prep to manage the school for the 2014-15 school year and has continued through into the 2019-2020 school year.

 

 

GRADES SERVED
6 – 8

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
360 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Ryan Silver

Principal Ryan.Silver@democracyprep.org

Elizabeth Monahan

Assistant Principal elizabeth.monahan@democracyprep.org

Dunja Varciana

Leader Resident dunja.varciana@democracyprep.org

Nicholas Warley

DREAM Coach nicholas.warley@democracyprep.org

Ishaq Allison-Konteh

6th Grade Math ishaq.allisonkonteh@democracyprep.org

Aleshia Black

6th Grade Math aleshia.black@democracyprep.org

Jeannette Martino

6th Grade Math jeannette.martino@democracyprep.org

Amber Harrison

7th Grade Math amber.harrison@democracyprep.org

William Holmes

7th Grade Math william.holmes@democracyprep.org

Martine Samson

7th Grade Math martine.samson@democracyprep.org

Virginia Peña

8th Grade Math virginia.pena@democracyprep.org

Madiu-Aziz Lasisi

8th Grade Math madiu-aziz.lasisi@democracyprep.org

Diana Aguilar

8th Grade Math diana.aguilar@democracyprep.org

Nicole Jabanoski

6th Grade Reading nicole.jabanoski@democracyprep.org

Shehtaz Huq

6th Grade Reading shehtaz.huq@democracyprep.org

Daunaree Simon-Smith

6th Grade Reading daunaree.simonsmith@democracyprep.org

Tracee Gonzalez

7th Grade Reading tracee.gonzalez@democracyprep.org

Kimberly Joseph

7th Grade Reading kimberlyann.joseph@democracyprep.org

Rachael Pietrocola

7th Grade Reading rachael.pietrocola@democracyprep.org

Nikita Philpott

8th Grade Reading nikita.philpott@democracyprep.org

Marcterline Rockingster

6th Grade Writing marcterline.rockingster@democracyprep.org

Sonila Preka

6th Grade Writing sonila.preka@democracyprep.org

Marquita Gittens

7th Grade Writing marquita.gittens@democracyprep.org

Valentina Alexandre

7th & 8th Grade Writing valentina.alexandre@democracyprep.org

Whitney Smith

8th Grade Writing whitney.smith@democracyprep.org

I'Aisha Jackson

6th Grade Science iaisha.jackson@democracyprep.org

Raqueil Shelton

7th Grade Science raqueil.shelton@democracyprep.org

Rashaad Washington

8th Grade Science rashaad.washington@democracyprep.org

James Russell

6th Grade History james.russell@democracyprep.org

David Hunter

7th Grade History david.hunter@democracyprep.org

Frody Louis

8th Grade History frody.louis@democracyprep.org

Joseph Alvarado

Orchestra joseph.alvarado@democracyprep.org

Derrick Henry

Physical Education derrick.henry@democracyprep.org

Lydie Bemba

Visual Arts lydie.bemba@democracyprep.org

Lissan Hardware

Social Worker lissan.hardware@democracyprep.org

Sandra Waddell

Registrar sandra.waddell@democracyprep.org

Christopher Crespo

Facilities Associate christopher.crespo@democracyprep.org

Michael Ortiz

Facilities Associate michael.ortiz@democracyprep.org

Francisco Mercedes

Security francisco.mercedes@democracyprep.org

Luis Arroyo

Operations Associate luis.arroyo@democracyprep.org

Migueyli Duran

8th Grade Reading migueyli.duran@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

  Click to download BPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17
  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the DPNY Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.